To make our website work we log user data. By using this website you agree to our privacy policy

The Azores

Step into a sanctuary of biodiversity and geodiversity

The nine islands of the Azores are all volcani in their origin. The archipelago is divided up into three geographical groups; The Eastern, Central and Western Group.

All the islands share an extraordinary natural legacy and they also have their own unique landscape, traditions, cuisines and architecture.

The Azores are considered to be a sanctuary of biodiversity and geodiversity and are one of the best destinations for Nature Tourism. There are many protected areas that are home to unique flora and fauna, beautiful forest reserves and sites of special geological interest.

The Azores

Educational overseas adventures that are easy to book and plan

The Azores
  • Discover one of the best locations for ‘Nature Tourism’
  • Explore the lakes, caves, lava fields and forests of two volcanic islands
  • Hike, climb, kayak and bathe in natural hot springs
  • Spot up to eight species of whales and dolphins on a whale watching tour
Trip length 8 days
Cultural rating
Environmental rating
Physical rating
More Europe, North Africa & Middle East destinations
Got a destination in mind?
See where we travel to

Want to know more about Outlook and the educational experiences we offer schools and students? Fill in your contact details to receive our brochure.

By submitting this form you agree to Outlook Expeditions using your data in accordance with our Privacy Notice